Roskomnadzor listed 13 IT companies to “land” in Russia

On November 21, 2021, Roskomnadzor (Russia’s Internet and mass communications regulator) published a list of 13 Internet and technology companies falling under the requirements of Federal Law No. 236-FZ “On the Activities of Foreign Persons in the Information and Telecommunications Network “Internet” in the Russian Federation”, which entered into force on July 1, 2021.

The Roskomnadzor list includes such Internet giants as Alphabet’s Google, Apple, Facebook, Twitter, TikTok and Telegram.

Each of the above companies must, among other things, open a branch or representative office or incorporate a local legal entity in Russia by January 1, 2022.

Sanctions for failure to comply with the “landing” requirement may vary from partial suspension of access to companies’ websites to restrictions on advertising and financial transactions and total ban in the country.

Read Other News